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PRIOR TO SCHEDULING EXAM MUST PROVIDE LETTER OF 
GOOD STANDING FROM RECIPROCATING STATE 

 
 

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which 
the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification 
program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum 
standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications. 
 

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *Surface Electrical Repairman - WV RECIPROCITY 
Renewal must be in accordance with MSHA’s electrical annual retraining requirement. 
 

This certification authorizes the holder to: 
 Perform electrical work and inspections at all surface locations of underground coal mines, 

preparation plants and at surface (strip coal mines (any surface location) 
 Make examinations on electrical equipment 
 Conduct and record results of electrical examinations 

 

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

o Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due 
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an 
opening will be available. 

 Hold a General Miner Certification   
 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 

Training acceptable) 
 Copy of current West Virginia electrical certification card and current electrical retraining 
 Letter of “good standing” from state of West Virginia 
 Reciprocity can only be used one time to achieve certification 

 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 80% on each element of the examination. 
Applicants must pass the Records - Practical Stations of the Surface Electrical examination in order for 
Virginia to reciprocity West Virginia electrical certification. If the practical section of the examination is 
failed, then the applicant may submit fee for retake of the examination 10 working days after the notification 
letter has been sent.   If the applicant does not pass on the second try, the entire electrical examination must 
be taken under the regular examination process for electrical certification. 

 

BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 

ELECTRICAL REPAIRMAN SURFACE –  
West Virginia Reciprocal Agreement 

http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm


 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM 
 Records - Practical Stations (5) 

1. Control Circuit Troubleshooting - Electrical Schematic Reading   (ER) 
2. Electrical Examinations - Record Keeping   (RK) (Surface) 
3. Cable Troubleshooting   (CT) 
4. Circuit Breaker Troubleshooting   (CB) 
5. Permissibility (PD) 

 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  

 Electrical Study Guide ($20.00) 
 

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, 
(276) 523-8100. 
 
*8 hours annual continuing education required to update certification. 
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