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ELECTRICAL REPAIRMAN SURFACE (COAL)

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of
coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which
set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Surface Electrical Repairman (Coal)
This certification authorizes the holder to:
= Perform electrical work and inspections at surface locations of underground coal mines,
preparation plants, and at surface (strip) coal mines (any surface location)
= Make examinations on electrical equipment
= Conduct and record results of electrical examinations

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
= Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
o Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are
due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee
that an opening will be available.
= One year of electrical experience in surface coal mining under the direction of a certified
surface electrical repairman or appropriately related work experience approved by
the Chief of the Division of Mines. NOTE: Experience must be submitted within
S vears of passing the examination. After S years records are destroyed. Must reapply
if future certification is desired.
* Six months credit will be granted for electrical training from a college, technical school,
or vocational school (copy of certificate required). The remaining 6 months must be surface
coal mining electrical work under the supervision of a certified electrician.
* Hold a General Miner Certification and Gas Detection
* Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced
Training acceptable)

NOTE: Must provide MSHA Individual Identification Number prior to certification being
issued.
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EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 80% on each element of the examination

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS

= Alternating Current (AC) 20

= Direct Current (DC) 20

* Circuits & Equipment/drawings (CE) 25

= (Cable Splicing (CS) 20

* High Voltage (HV) 20

= Legal Requirements (LR) 20

» Permissibility (PR) 20

= @as Detection - practical demonstration

= Records - Practical Stations (5)

Control Circuit Troubleshooting - Electrical Schematic Reading (ER)
Electrical Examinations - Record Keeping (RK) (Surface)

Cable Troubleshooting (CT)

Circuit Breaker Troubleshooting (CB)

Permissibility (PD)
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RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:
Electrical Study Guide/Student Training Guide ($20.00)
Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($25.00)

BCME Requirements (No charge)

First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($15.00)

Title 30 CFR Parts 18, 75, 77 (Included in study guide)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy’s Big Stone Gap
Office (276) 523-8100.

*8 hours annual continuing education required to update certification.
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