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UNDERGROUND SHOT FIRER (COAL)

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515 through §45.2-534. in which
the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification
program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum
standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Underground Shot Firer (Coal)
This certification authorizes the holder to perform blasting operations, pre-blasting and post-blasting
examinations, and handle corrective measures in misfired shots in underground coal mines.

NOTE: This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
* Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
o Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an
opening will be available.

= Two years coal mining experience underground,
o one year of the two years shall be handling and using explosives underground under
the direction of a certified underground shot firer or;
o completion of a 24 hour shot firer class approved by the Chief and taught by a Virginia
Energy approved shot firer instructor or;
o appropriately related work experience approved by the Chief of the Division
of Mines.
NOTE: Experience must be submitted within S years of passing the examination. After
S years records are destroyed. Must reapply if future certification is desired.

Hold a General Miner Certification

Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced
Training acceptable)

-Continued on back-
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EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 85% on each element of the examination.

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
= Principles of Blasting (PB) 20
= Surface Storage (SS) 20
» Underground Storage (US) 20
=  Underground Transportation (UT) 20
= Federal Regulations (FR) 20

=  Underground Blasting (UB)
= Gas Detection - practical demonstration

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:
= Title 30 CFR (Included in study guide)
* Mining Laws of Virginia ($25.00)
= BCME Requirements (No charge)
» Underground Shot Firer Study Guide ($5.00)
» First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($15.00)

The above mentioned materials are available at the Virginia Energy Big Stone Gap Office,
(276) 523-8100.

* Continuing education required. See BCME Requirements. (Effective August 25, 2004)
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