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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which 
the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification 
program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum 
standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications. 
 

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *Mine Inspector 
This certification authorizes the holder to: 
 Qualify for Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mines Inspector 

positions 
 Conduct safety and health inspections at underground and surface coal mine sites when 

employed by the Division 
NOTE:   
 This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification.  Issued only if employed 

 by the Division of Mines. 
 

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

• Note:  Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due 
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an 
opening will be available.  

 Hold a valid First Class Mine Foreman Certification in Virginia 
 Five years underground coal mining experience.  NOTE: Experience must be submitted 

within 5 years of passing the examination.  After 5 years records are destroyed.   
Must reapply if future certification is desired. 

 Three years credit will be granted for a degree in mining engineering from an approved 
four-year college (copy of degree required) 

 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 
Training acceptable) 

 

THIS CERTIFICATION IS CRITERIA FOR EMPLOYMENT WITH VIRGINIA ENERGY 
WHEN APPLYING FOR CERTAIN POSITIONS. 
 

 
                                                                                      
    
 
 

BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 
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EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 80% on each element of the examination. 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
 Fires and Explosions   (FX)       20 
 Explosives   (EX)         20 
 Electricity   (EC)         20 
 Mine Gases   (MG)         20 
 Mining Laws   (ML)        50 
 Ventilation   (VE)         20 
 Federal Regulations                   25 
 Gas Detection – practical demonstration 

                                
 Records 

                 Pre-shift/On-shift (PO) 
                 Weekly Examination (WE) 

  Map – ventilated per instructions (MA) 
  Anemometer 

 
 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 
 Title 30 CFR Part 75, 77 (Included in study guide)    
 Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($25.00)   
 BCME Requirements (No Charge) 
 Practical Records (Included in study guide)     
 First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide ($30.00) 
 First Aid For Miners Study Guide ($15.00) 
 Responding to a Mine Emergency ($7.50) 
  

 
 
The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, 
(276) 523-8100. 
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