

BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

GENERAL COAL MINER

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515.through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20,

which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *General Coal Miner

This certification authorizes an individual not previously employed in the Commonwealth as a coal miner to work at underground and surface coal mines.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:

- Application (BCME-1) and \$20.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
- Submit Verification of Training Form (BCME-3) signed by instructor and applicant. This form verifies that training in first aid (2 hours) or Mining Laws of Virginia has been received (2 hour equivalent of first aid training).
- Gas detection required for underground certification
- One year coal mining work experience prior to 1996, signed by company official properly notarized and a current copy of MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining OR New Miner Inexperienced Training acceptable

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:

- Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia (\$25.00)
- BCME Requirements (No Charge)
- General Coal Miner Study materials (handed out in class) (Surface or Underground)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy's Big Stone Gap Office, (276) 523-8100.

*General Coal Miner training for both surface and underground mines is offered by Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) in Big Stone Gap. For information on enrollment, dates, times and fees, contact MECC at 276-523-2400.