

BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

## **PHOTO ID REQUIRED**

# SURFACE BLASTER – DIVISION OF MINERAL MINING TO DIVISION OF MINES RECIPROCAL REQUIREMENTS

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

#### **CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:** \*Surface Blaster – Virginia Energy Mineral Mining Reciprocity – Renewal must be in accordance with BCME Requirements

This certification authorizes the holder to perform blasting operations and to record blasting examination information concerning blasting operations at surface coal mines. **NOTE:** This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification.

### **APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:**

- Application (DM-BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
  - Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination but this will not guarantee that an opening will be available.
- One year of blasting experience (Form DM-BCME-2) on a surface coal mine under the direction of a certified surface blaster or appropriately related work experience approved by the Chief of the Division of Mines. <u>NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing the examination. After 5 years records are destroyed. Must reapply if future certification is desired.</u>
- Hold a General Miner Certification surface coal
- Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training acceptable)
- Notification from DMM verifying certification is in good standing, verifying 85% on all sections of the DMM exam.
- Reciprocity can only be used one time to achieve certification

#### **EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:** A score of 85% on each element of the examination **NUMBER OF QUESTIONS ELEMENTS OF EXAM**

Must take the following sections of the Surface Blasters exam.

- Rules and Regulations (DM)(RR)
- Mined Land Reclamation
- Surface Blasting Records Practical (BR)

#### **RECOMMENDED REFERNECE/STUDY MATERIALS:**

- Title 30 CFR (Included in study guide)
- Coal Mine Laws of Virginia (\$25.00)
- BCME Requirements (No Charge)
- Surface Blasters Study Guide (\$14.00) DMLR Rules & Regulations (Included in study guide)
- First Aid for Miners Study Guide (\$15.00)

\*5 year DMLR recertification required

20 20