

# BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

https://energy.virginia.gov/coal/coal-mine-safety/coalsafety.shtml

## DIESEL ENGINE MECHANIC INSTRUCTOR UNDERGROUND

# PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

### CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: \*Underground Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor

This certification authorizes the holder to:

 Teach diesel engine mechanic initial and retraining courses as required by the Coal Mine Safety Program

#### **APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:**

- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
- Hold a valid diesel engine mechanic certification and provide teaching experience
- Hold a General Coal Miner Certification
- Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training acceptable)

**EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:** Diesel Engine Mechanic Examination score may be used in lieu of taking the examination if certifications are received at the same time. All instructors must be monitored by a CMS Representative prior to issuance of Instructor certification and <u>may</u> be asked to

co-teach a class with a CMS Instructor.

#### PRIOR TO INSTRUCTING A CLASS (INITIAL OR RETRAINING):

- Instructors must hold a valid Diesel Engine Mechanic and Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor certification issued by the Board of Coal Mining Examiners
- Notify the CMS Regulatory Boards Administrator in writing 10 working days prior to class
  - Instructor's name
  - Date of Birth
  - Certification No.
  - Projected number of students (if possible)
  - Location, date, time of scheduled class

#### PRIOR TO COMPLETING CLASS:

- Provide the CMS Regulatory Boards Administrator with class roster and schedule a tentative examination date
- Have students complete application, DM-BCME-1 and submit \$40.00 fee (checks made payable to Treasurer of Virginia)

• Student attendance sheet must be submitted by instructor at the end of class or on the exam date if class attendance is used for experience. This must contain student's name, address, social security no., and each date attended.

#### RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:

- BCME Requirements (No Charge)
- Diesel Engine Mechanic Study Guide (\$9.00)
- CMS Course Instructor's Manual where available (NA)
- Rules and Regulations Governing the Use of Diesel Powered Equipment in Underground Coal Mines (Included in study guide)
- First Aid for Miners Study Guide (\$15.00)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy Big Stone Gap Office, 276-523-8100.

\* Applicant shall maintain certification as required by 4 VAC 25-20-200 BCME Regulations – teach at least one approved diesel mechanic course every two years or at least one approved diesel engine mechanic continuing education course every year.